About us

Basecamp Explorer is a tourism company that operates a collection of destinations across the globe, in an enlightened and responsible way.

HOW DID IT ALL GET STARTED?

Svein Wilhelmsen founded Basecamp Explorer in 1998, following a life-changing meeting with an old Maasai Chief named Ole Taek. Sitting around the fire one evening, the respected Maasai elder told a worrying tale about the threats facing his people. Wilhelmsen was inspired by his concern to found a company that would care, a company that would leave a positive footprint wherever it operated and would have a positive impact on the people it worked with. Since 1998, the Basecamp Group has grown to incorporate unique tourist destinations spread across the globe – in Kenya and Spitsbergen. Today our responsible tourism business supports projects like reforestation, waste management, empowering women and youth and securing land for the wildlife to flourish.

Read more


MEET OUR FOUNDERS and CEO


Meet our board of directors in Oslo, Kenya and Spitsbergen

BASECAMP EXPLORER AS

Svein Wilhelmsen
Chairman, Founder and co – owner
sw@basecampexplorer.com

Anne Katrine Stabell Hagelund
Board Member and co – owner
kiri@bornglobal.no

Trond Backer
Board member
trond@backerbang.no

Christian Eriksen
Board member
christian.eriksen@centragruppen.no

Henning Nielsen
Board Member
henning.nielsen@dermanor.no

BASECAMP EXPLORER KENYA LTD

60% owned by Basecamp Explorer / 40% owned by Norfund

Svein Wilhelmsen, Norway
Chairman
sw@basecampexplorer.com

Brita Knutsen Dahl, Norway
Board Member
brita@basecampexplorer.com

Justin Francis, UK
Board Member
justin@responsibletravel.com

Isabella Wilson, Kenya
Board Member
brightwater@africaonline.co.ke

Kjartan Stigen
Norfund
kjartan.stigen@norfund.no

BASECAMP SPITSBERGEN AS

90% owned by Basecamp Explorer

Brita Knutsen Dahl
Chairman and co – owner
brita@basecampexplorer.com

Svein Wilhelmsen
Board Member
sw@basecampexplorer.com

Lars Weyer–Larsen
Board Member
l.weyer-larsen@outlook.com

Jarle Roth
Board memeber

Close

Contact us

Fill in the details and we will get back to you soon.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.